The church is famous for its unique architecture, unusual for the Russian architecture. Supposedly the temple was built from 1690 to 1704. Allegedly Prince Golitsyn hired famous Italian architects for this purpose. The main entrance of the church is decorated with two white stone sculptures.
On the left side of of the entrance there is St. Gregory the Theologian with a book. On the right side – St. John Chrysostom with a book and a miter standing by his side. Unfortunately the sculptures are in bad condition now. The bells hanging rather low attract children to try their voices.
Autor of the article: griqor